Events
June 3, 2021

Bridging AMR and WASH: Moving toward a collective agenda

Date

Wednesday, 9 June 2021

Time

The event will start at the following times:

UTC: 12:30
CST: 07:30
EST: 08:30
AEST: 22:30

Event summary

This meeting – co-hosted by the Wellcome Trust, Global Water 2020 and CORE Group – aims to bring together the AMR and WASH communities to explore opportunities and challenges for greater collaboration.

This event follows on from the publication of Wellcome’s AMR Landscape Analysis at the end of 2020. This work explored what a critical path to mitigating antimicrobial resistance (AMR) might look like, and pointed to the great importance of water, sanitation and hygiene (WASH) initiatives to make rapid progress.

However, as it stands the objectives and activities of the AMR and WASH communities are not always well aligned to most effectively achieve key shared goals.

Wellcome, Global Water 2020 and CORE have come together to host this online discussion, aiming to strengthen connections between communities and identify routes for future collaboration that benefit both AMR and WASH agendas.

This collaborative session will include:

  • A primer on the AMR Landscape Analysis from the Wellcome Trust
  • A fireside chat exploring how the WASH and AMR agendas could more effectively align and collaborate
  • An open session for facilitated discussion and feedback

Featured speakers include:

  • Professor Sabiha Essack, University of KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
  • Dr Rafael Araos, Universidad del Desarrollo, Chile
  • Alison McIntyre, Nossal Institute for Global Health, Australia
  • Dr Kate Medlicott, Water, Sanitation, Hygiene and Health Unit, WHO

Register to attend